Tuesday, July 04, 2006

What you are eating could be H.A.R.A.M

Do you know that what you are eating could be *H.A.R.A.M? I guess we should recheck and forgo our favourite snacks if they are found to be H.A.R.A.M.

Here are SOME foods that are H.A.R.A.M :

* Pringles Potato Chips made from USA, Belgium and etc contain E471 has pork substance/pork fats (MUIS)
* Starbucks/Coffee Bean (espresso Frapucchino) Chocolate substance- contains ALCOHOL (MUIS)

These emulsifiers are H.A.R.A.M (c.o.p.y & recheck when grocery shopping):
120, 140, 141, 160(A), 161, 252, 300, 301, 405(Q), 413(Q), 422(Q), 430, 431, 433(Q), 435(Q), 436, 441, 470, 471(Q), 472(A,E), 473, 474, 475, 476, 477, 478, 481(Q), 482(Q), 483, 491(Q), 492, 494, 542, 570, 572, 631, 635, 920


RENNET in the cheese is of animal origin is H.A.R.A.M too unless otherwise stated.

It's ONLY chocolates and ice-creams what?
Most Chocolates and Ice creams contain Emulsifier 471. These are pork fats and they named it in such a way. Alcohol could be found in its flavourings too. So for non-halal ice-cream products/restaurants like Geláre, Häagen-Dazs, Ben & Jerry’s and etc, please check with them if their products are H.A.L.A.L to consume. I have emailed to Geláre Singapore through their website but no response...

They are ONLY cakes hokay?
Cakes might contained animal fats and rum unknown to our knowledge. "But I'm only buying their bread what"...Sure...But their baking equipments might be used to bake their pork/ham bread. "Bengawan Solo are only selling nyonya kuehs. How haram could that be?" First, they are not muslim-owned...Heh~ Did it ever occur to you that the glazing products used on tarts/cakes from non-halal cake shops could be animal gelatine?

Astaghfirullah, what have we fed our children? *ponder*

But for those who love to bake take note that chocolate liquor might seems to contain alcohol, but that is not the case. Chocolate liquor is defined as being "a bitter cocoa paste (or mass) that makes chocolate what it is". Chocolate liquor is safe for consumption. But chocolate LIQUOR should not confused with chocolate LIQUEUR, which the chocolate glossary describes as "alcohol mixed in a sugar syrup". It is not safe for consumption.

Aiyah! So troublesome! This and that all cannot eat! Complain you shall but in Surah Al-Baqarah:172 "O you who believe! Eat of the good things (*H.A.L.A.L) that We have provided for you and be grateful to Allah, if it is Him you worship."

If we consumed non-halal food, I wonder if Earth are willing to accept our body when we passed away one day...

Please inform our uninformed muslim friends. Moving towards a more "Islam is the Way of Life", Byebye Baby! H.A.R.A.M food

P.S. My favourite cereal Post(Kraft Foods) Blueberry Mornings contains a *mashbooh ingredient named glycerol/glycerine. Halal if it's fm plant; Haram if it's fm animal. I have yet to receive their replied email.

Your sister in Islam

*Halal is a Quranic Term which means allowed or lawful. Halal foods and drinks are permitted for consumption by Allah- the supreme lawgiver. Eating Halal is obligatory.

*Haram is a Quranic Term, which means prohibited or unlawful. Haram foods and drinks are absolutely prohibited for consumption by Allah. Eating Haram is forbidden for every Muslim.

*Mashbooh is an Arabic term which means doubtful/questionable. If one does not know the Halal or Harm status of a particular food or drink, such a food or drink is doubtful. A practicing Muslims prevents himself from consuming doubtful things.

No comments: